top of page
  • Black Twitter Icon
Search
  • txstatesportsfan

Our Ratings vs 247 (2021)

Here's a spreadsheet that I created in the early days. I want to make it clear that this is not a criticism of 247, but the reality is that they don't have the resources or motivation to effectively cover Texas State Recruiting. I've noticed that fans and media often place a lot of importance on 247's rankings, which can be entertaining, but it doesn't give us a true understanding of how successful our coaches were in recruiting.


As I was going through the spreadsheet, I was intrigued to see the differences in my rankings of our top 5 recruits versus 247's rankings. In 2021, I reranked our recruiting classes compared to 247's ratings and found some interesting differences.





For those unfamiliar, Liam Dobson and Kyle Hergel were both transfers to Texas State from FCS. Liam went on to be selected in the CFL draft and Kyle eventually transferred to a Power 5 school, Boston College. In his single season at Texas State, Troy Lefeged made an impact, recording 63 tackles and an interception in 11 games.


Note: I didn't rerank players out of high school at the time. I focused on transfers, but now we evaluate both transfers and high school players.







36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Spring Game Evaluations/Standouts

The coaches made it extremely difficult to evaluate individual players, as players didn't wear numbers. So please forgive me if I miss a few standout performers, especially on defense, as it was almos

© 2035 by Crows Nest. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page