top of page
  • Black Twitter Icon
Search
  • txstatesportsfan

Our Ratings vs 247 (2023 edition)

Like last year, GJ Kinne and his team have recruited some standout players. However, if you're still relying on mainstream recruiting services to cover Texas State football or any G5 program, you won't get an accurate assessment of the talent the Bobcats are bringing in.


After the bowl season, I will start publishing my 2024 evaluations. In the meantime, let's revisit how my 2023 evaluations stacked up against 247.

.




You may notice that we were high on the UIW linemen we recruited from the start, despite them being unranked by 247 and facing criticism from local media voices, especially after the spring. We wouldn't have set offensive records and produced an All-American running back without the exceptional play from the big men upfront.


In addition, players like Tavian Coleman, Kaleb Culp, and Kole Wilson were also unranked by 247 and rarely discussed by local media personalities. However, we knew better and happily included them in our top 10 list.


I suspect 2024 will mirror past years; once you do your homework, there's a lot more to our recruits than what the media is reporting.


Lastly, my ranking system isn't perfect, and after the bowl game, I will publish my Top 5 misses.



238 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Spring Game Evaluations/Standouts

The coaches made it extremely difficult to evaluate individual players, as players didn't wear numbers. So please forgive me if I miss a few standout performers, especially on defense, as it was almos

© 2035 by Crows Nest. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page